Primaries set as filing week ends

Primary voting begins July 20 and ends August 7

IAN SMAY, Evergreen news editor

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Filing week for government office ended today at 5 p.m. The following list shows candidates listed for open Whitman County positions and state positions serving Whitman County.

An asterisk (*) denotes the incumbent candidate for the position. Primary voting begins July 20 and ends August 7. The order listed here reflects the order listed on the official website.

U.S Representative – District 5 (Partisan Office – 2-year term)

  • Lisa Brown (Prefers Democratic Party)
  • Jered Gavin Bonneau (Prefers Republican Party)
  • Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Prefers Republican Party)*
  • Dave Saulibio (Prefers Trump Populist Party)
  • Kari Olavi Ilonummi (Prefers Republican Party)

State Representative Position 1 – Legislative District 9 (Partisan Office – 2-year term)

  • Mary Dye (Prefers Republican Party)*
  • Jenn Goulet (Prefers Democratic Party)

State Representative Position 2 – Legislative District 9 (Partisan Office – 2-year term)

  • Joe Schmick (Prefers GOP Party)*
  • Matthew Sutherland (Prefers Democratic Party)

District Court Judge Position 1 (Nonpartisan Office – 4-year term)

  •  Dan LeBeau
  •  Rob Rembert
  •  John Hart

(For previous Evergreen coverage on these candidates, click here)

Commissioner 3 (Partisan Office – 4-year term)

  • Michael Largent (Prefers Republican Party)*
  • John-Mark Mahnkey (Prefers Democratic Party)

Assessor (Partisan Office – 4-year short and full term)

  • Robin Jones (Prefers Republican Party)*

Auditor (Partisan Office – 4-year term)

  • Sandy Jamison (Prefers Republican Party)
  • Eric Fejeran (Prefers Democratic Party)

Clerk (Partisan Office – 4-year term)

  • Jill E. Whelchel (No Party Preference)*

Coroner (Partisan Office – 4-year short and full term)

  • Annie Pillers (Prefers Republican Party)*

Prosecuting Attorney (Partisan Office – 4-year term)

  • Denis Tracy (Prefers Republican Party)*

Sheriff (Partisan Office – 4-year term)

  • Brett J. Myers (Prefers Republican Party)*

Treasurer (Partisan Office – 4-year term)

  • Mark Clinton (Prefers Republican Party)*

For a full list of candidates for Whitman County and Washington State, visit the candidate filing website.

Update: This story has been revised to reflect Denis Tracy as the candidate for Prosecuting Attorney.