IFC elects new councilmembers, concludes election week

KAYLA BONAR | Evergreen reporter

The Interfraternity Council (IFC) held its final slate night and elected its new councilmembers on Thursday.

Nathan Harris of Lambda Chi Alpha was elected the new IFC president. Harris was the only 2015 councilmember to run for reelection.

Other new councilmembers include Kim Magno, Kappa Sigma, the executive vice president; Joey Reines, Pi Kappa Phi, the new head of policy and procedure; Julian Khalifa, Phi Kappa Theta, will be in charge of finance and administration; Austin Rabinowitz, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, head of programming; Nicolas Swaab, Pi Kappa Phi, public relations officer; Alex Baier, Pi Kappa Phi, head of scholarship; Max Thon, Sigma Chi, head of service and philanthropy; and Stu Schmidtke, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, head of recruitment.

Current councilmembers vetted individuals running for positions in a Q&A session. Questions asked included what individuals would do in hypothetical situations in the positions they are running for, how their prior experience will support their role, etc.

Individuals from various WSU fraternity chapters were present to participate in the slating process. Every chapter is invited to vote for the new councilmembers.

Corbin Poppe, current director of policy, said that even though there is no repercussion for a chapter not sending a representative to the slating process, losing the opportunity to vote can be a negative consequence for that chapter.

There were differences between Q&A night that the slating committee looked for after the first slating and speech night earlier this week.

“You have ideas relevant to a certain position over another one,” said IFC President Zak Cherif of Thursday’s Q&A session.

Question topics included, but were not limited to: risk management, philanthropy, communication with the university, and hypothetical situations. Candidates were to explain how they might navigate those situations in their given positions.

Q&A night was also similar in certain ways to speech night, which happened Tuesday, in that there was a lack of freedom in the answers candidates had to provide to specific questions asked by the council.

Throughout the entire election process, the current council stayed as neutral possible, regardless of their personal chapter affiliations. Other chapters who sent representatives from outside of the council were allowed more fluidity in how to provide feedback and opinions that ultimately determined how they would vote.

Jared Barranco, Zach Disalvo, and Parker Gross, three current councilmembers, agreed that nearly all candidates prioritized the WSU Unity program.