Evergreen wins best all-around student newspaper in region

LUKE HUDSON, Evergreen editor-in-chief

Members of The Daily Evergreen staff and WSU students were honored by the Society of Professional Journalists at the 2019 Region 10 Mark of Excellence Awards in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Winners will move on to the national contest.

SPJ Region 10 includes Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.


Evergreen Region 10 Winners:

Best All-Around Daily Student Newspaper:

The staff of The Daily Evergreen

Editorial Cartooning:

Nick Sandifer, Evergreen cartoonist

General News Photography: (Large) 10,000+ Students  

Paige Campbell, Evergreen photo editor

Sports Photography: (Large) 10,000+ Students

Abby Linnenkohl, Evergreen photographer

Evergreen Region 10 Finalists: 

Sports Photography: (Large) 10,000+ Students

Benjamin Michaelis, Evergreen photographer

Breaking News Reporting: (Large) 10,000+ Students

Madysen McLain, Evergreen deputy news editor

Other WSU Winners:

Online News Reporting:

Luke Hollister, Shannon Heckt, Jacob Grannemann, Cody Cottier, Washington State University


General News Reporting:

Zachary Anders, Washington State University

Television Sports Reporting

Brady Frederick, Washington State University

Broadcast News Videography

Jacob Granneman, Washington State University

Best All-Around Television News Magazine

Bradley Warren, Jasmine Darakjy, Taylor Swanson, Emma Jerome, Washington State University