Predicting the NFL Honors Awards

Breaking down the NFL Honors finalists and predicting who will win the awards



Patrick Mahomes holding the NFL MVP Award

TREVOR JUNT, Evergreen deputy sports editor

The NFL MVP Awards will be given out on Feb. 9 at the NFL Honors. Here’s a prediction of how each of these awards will go.


Finalists: Josh Allen (Bills QB), Joe Burrow (Bengals QB), Jalen Hurts (Eagles QB), Justin Jefferson (Vikings WR), Patrick Mahomes (Chiefs QB).

This is an easy award prediction, the award will go to Patrick Mahomes. 

Mahomes threw for a career-high of 5,250 yards. He also had the second most passing TDs in his career with 41, he rushed for four TDs and only threw 12 interceptions. He is the obvious winner.

Jalen Hurts had a chance for a while, but his injury and slower production toward the end of the season cut that off. Not many teams could slow Mahomes down, and with his stats backing him up there is no one else that should be taking this award home. 

Defensive Player of the Year:

Finalists: Nick Bosa (49ers DE), Chris Jones (Chiefs DT), Micah Parsons (Cowboys DE).

This is a bit more difficult, Micah Parsons and Nick Bosa are both great candidates. Parsons finished the season with 42 total tackles, tied for seventh in the league with 13.5 sacks and tied for sixth in the league with three forced fumbles. However, the award needs to go to Nick Bosa. 

He was on the best defense in the league and was one of the main leaders and contributors. He had 18.5 sacks, which led the league along with 41 total tackles and two forced fumbles. Bosa deserves the award.

Offensive Player of the Year:

Tyreek Hill (Dolphins WR), Jalen Hurts (Eagles QB), Justin Jefferson (Vikings WR), Patrick Mahomes (Chiefs QB).

Offensive Player of the Year has to go to Justin Jefferson, there is no other option. He led the league with 128 receptions and receiving yards with 1,809 yards. which was close to breaking Jerry Rice’s receiving yards record, 40 yards away. He also caught eight TD passes. Although Mahomes could be a contender for this award, Jefferson showed up and showed out this season.

Offensive Rookie of the Year:

Brock Purdy (49ers QB), Kenneth Walker III (Seahawks RB), Garrett Wilson (Jets WR).

Offensive Rookie of the Year will be a hotly debated award, as many will believe each of these guys deserve it. In my opinion, just Walker III and Wilson should be in the discussion.

Wilson had a heck of a season with 83 grabs for 1,103 yards and four touchdowns. However, I believe that Walker III deserves the award, he had a chunk of the season in which he did not perform great but he still finished with 1,050 yards and nine touchdowns best for twelfth and tenth in the league.

Walker III had the best production of a rookie running back and was a major factor on the Seattle offense. It will be a toss up, but Walker III should win the ROY.

Defensive Rookie of the Year:
Sauce Gardner (Jets CB), Aidan Hutchinson (Lions DE), Tariq Woolen (Seahawks CB). 

This is an easier award to choose. Aidan Hutchinson and Tariq Woolen both had excellent seasons, however, Sauce Gardner played like a top cornerback in the NFL.

Hutchinson had 34 total tackles, tied for 20 in the league with 9.5 sacks and had three interceptions. He had a terrific rookie season. Woolen had 46 total tackles, was fourth in the league with 16 passes defended and tied for first in the league with six interceptions. Woolen played as a top-ten cornerback this season and was a star on a struggling Seattle defense.

Sauce Gardner had 51 total tackles, two interceptions, and was first in the league with 20 passes defended. He played as the number one cornerback in the NFL. The award should go to Gardner.

Comeback Player of the Year:

Saquon Barkley (Giants RB), Christian McCaffrey (49ers RB), Geno Smith (Seahawks QB).

Geno Smith is the obvious choice for this award. Although Saquon bounced back from a multitude of injuries, including a torn ACL and MCL. He played 16 games this season and rushed for the most yards in his career: 1,312 yards. He had 10 touchdowns and 338 receiving yards.

Geno Smith came back from the dead. This is his first time starting the entire season since his rookie year in 2013. He had a career-high in just about every stat, leading the league with 69.8% completion and was fourth in the league with 30 touchdowns and eighth with 4,282 yards, which is the most in Seahawks franchise history.

Smith came out of nowhere to be an excellent starter this season, this would be the biggest shock if he doesn’t go home with that award.

Coach of the Year:

Brian Daboll (Giants HC), Sean McDermott (Bills HC), Doug Pederson (Jaguars HC), Kyle Shanahan (49ers HC), Nick Sirianni (Eagles HC).

The Coach of the Year Award is where I’m a bit mixed up. Kyle Shanahan helped lead the 49ers with a third-string QB to become the No. 2 seed in the NFC. He went 5-0 with Brock Purdy and kept the defense as the best in the league all season.

Nick Sirianni made the Eagles the No. 1 seed in the NFC with the best record in the NFL. He led Jalen Hurts to become an MVP candidate and had the best offensive and defensive lines in the league.

Doug Pederson turned the Jaguars around, they went 3-14 last season and started 3-7 this season, they then won six of their last seven games.

Brian Daboll helped turn the Giants around, going 4-13 last season to 9-7-1 this season, with the same roster. My vote for this award is probably Brian Daboll.

Assistant Coach of the Year:

Ben Johnson (Lions OC), DeMeco Ryans (49ers DC), Shane Steichen (Eagles OC)

There is no other choice here for the Assistant Coach of the Year. It should go to DeMeco Ryans. Ben Johnson and Shane Steichen were both very successful and helped improve their teams. But DeMeco Ryans led the number one defense in the NFL and has earned a job for an eventual head coaching job at the end of this year. Ryans deserves this award well above any other.