A complete guide to the ASWSU Senate election

Polls open 12:01 a.m. Tuesday morning and close 7 p.m. Wednesday night

FORREST HOLT, Evergreen news editor

Over 30 undergraduate students are competing for seats on the ASWSU Senate. There are six openings for the all campus position, four for uncertified, two for business, one for engineering and architecture, four for arts and sciences, one for the College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Sciences, one for communication, one for education and one for honors delegate. This guide aims to list the candidates’ years, majors and their affiliations or focuses. All information was provided by the ASWSU Election Board chair. An I in parenthesis indicates a candidate already holds a position on the Senate.


All-Campus (6)

Jeffrey Thomas Alberts


Quinton Berkompas


ASWSU Cougar Lobby Team member, Pre-Law Society member, Delta Sigma Phi


Troy D. Clevenger


Jack Ellis, freshman, management information systems and accounting.

Honors College, pursuing minor in business economics


Grant Esomonu, bioengineering

Resident advisor for two years, emphasizes free expression of ideas and community engagement


Taylor Heersink, freshman, history and social studies

Alpha Omicron Pi, Panhellenic Council, ASB President


Laurice Faye C. Laforteza

High school valedictorian, senior class president, National Honor Society vice president


Grace Lim

Office of Multicultural Student Services employee, Lead the Legacy program coordinator


Bailey McCoy, freshman, political science

Raptor Club, political clubs, Flix Market employee


Kelly Monro (I), freshman, philosophy and Chinese

ASWSU uncertified senator spring 2018, Residence Hall Association, mock trial club


Samuel Stargell, sophomore, construction management

Emerging Leaders member, Resident Hall Association Honors Hall representative, University Recreation employee


Chase Urquhart, junior, strategic communication

Focused on campus safety, reducing cost, student voice


Alexis Wyatt

Young Life volunteer, select volleyball national team member, focused on serving others


Uncertified (4)

Curtis Cohen

High school class president, nonprofit co-founder


Joel Chavez


Rachel Kenitzer, freshman

Congressman Dave Reichert’s Youth Advisory Board, Alpha Omicron Pi, high school leadership retreat executive board


Camille Racpan Naputo

Association of Pacific and Asian Women vice president, Hawaii Club Luau director


John Sullivan

Focused on improving community, communication between students, faculty and association


Business (2)

Diana Baldovinos (I), international business and psychology, Spanish minor

Current ASWSU uncertified senator, ASWSU Finance and Budget Council member, mentor


Brandon Crawford


Karen Ngigi, junior, accounting

Society for Human Resource and Management Club treasurer, Office of Multicultural Student Services tutor, Keys to College Success co-founder and program manager


Ryan O’Dea (I), junior, international business, French, Chinese

French Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Taipei, studies abroad


Engineering and Architecture (1)

Kiera Rust

Arts and Science (4)


Synthia Alcantar, political science

Focused on outreach, communication, cultural awareness


A’Jenae Hardwell (I)

Current ASWSU All-Campus senator


Jacob Lizarraga (I), fourth-year, microbiology

ASWSU Senate external affairs committee member, Pharmacy Student Advising Council ambassador, Pre-Pharmacy Club public relations officer


Devinae McNeil, junior, basic medical sciences

Involved in infertility and hormone research, Greek affiliated, pre-med student



Lindsay Schilperoort (I), junior, agricultural and food business economics

ASWSU Senate Internal Affairs chair, Alpha Kappa Psi, Honors College


Alec Solemslie, junior

CAHNRS ambassador, ASWSU Environmental Sustainability Alliance, University Parking and Transportation Task Force


Communication (1)

Taylor Swanson, junior, broadcast news

ASWSU Senate, Cable 8 Productions and Interfraternity Council


Guillermo Motta

Office of Multicultural Student Services mentor, VIBES director, Chinook Student Center building manager


Education (1)

Hannah Martian, sophomore, sport management

WSU Athletics marketing intern, Chinook Yearbook assistant editor-in chief, KZUU show host


Honors Delegate (1)

Hayden Arend (I), junior, chemical engineering

ASWSU Senate, Honors College, Aerospace Club member