Faculty voice concern about provost search

Committee expects to have candidates on campus by April



Julie Kmec, co-chair of the Provost search committee, discusses how the search guidelines for a new provost are constantly being adapted to fit the needs of the university on Monday evening in the CUB Junior Ballroom.

LUKE HUDSON, Evergreen reporter

The Provost Search committee co-chairs and representatives for the search firm Isaacson, Miller responded to public concerns about the roles and responsibilities a provost holds and the search for a permanent replacement at a forum on Monday.

Squeak Meisel, chair of the WSU Department of Fine Arts, said he was concerned about whether WSU’s situation is attractive to any candidates for provost.

Lindsay Gold, managing associate with Isaacson, Miller, said there is no other university like WSU in terms of the multicampus system. This presents a challenge to candidates that will attract people who want to be creative about solving issues.

Isaacson, Miller is the same search firm that helped choose former provost Mitzi Montoya for the position but the representatives are not the same. Both Gold and Julie Filizetti, partners with Isaacson, Miller, said they have worked at WSU previously and said they understand what makes the university unique.

Michael Kahn, WSU professor in the department of molecular biosciences, said he was concerned that people don’t know why Montoya left her position in the university.

Julie Kmec, faculty co-chair of the search committee and professor of sociology, said some questions and concerns about the role of the provost cannot be answered until the Challenges and Opportunities document for the position is complete.

The committee expects to finish revising the Challenges and Opportunities document for the provost position in December, said Stacy Pearson, administrative co-chair of the search committee and vice president for finance and administration.

Gold handed out a form to submit nominations for the search. People may reach out with questions or feedback for the committee at [email protected].