Whitman County still counting ballots

Dean Kinzer, Tom Handy both have 49.7 percent of votes for second county commissioner

MATT HOLM, Evergreen reporter

Gov. Jay Inslee continues to lead Loren Culp in the Washington gubernatorial election with 58 percent of the vote statewide and 51 percent of the vote in Whitman County as of Thursday night.

Culp said he would not concede until every vote has been counted, in a Facebook video posted Wednesday.

Culp currently trails Inslee by about 600,000 votes, according to the official state election results website.

Whitman County has counted 16,797 ballots and estimates that about 3,500 remain uncounted.

County voters have approved Washington Referendum 90, which would require public schools to provide comprehensive sexual health education for students in grades 6-12 starting in the 2021 school year. 

This would include education about affirmative consent and bystander training. Whitman voters approved the bill with 55 percent of the vote.

County voters voted to reject Senate Joint Resolution 8212 with 56 percent of the vote. Resolution 8212 would allow the state government to create a fund for long-term care services such as public pension, industrial insurance trust funds and benefits for those with developmental disabilities.

Presidential candidate Joe Biden has 52 percent of the Whitman county vote over incumbent Donald Trump.

Republican incumbent District 5 Rep. Cathy McMorris-Rodgers has 53 percent of the Whitman vote against Democratic opponent Dave Wilson.

Democrat Denny Heck has 43 percent of the Whitman County vote against Democrat Marko Liias for Washington lieutenant governor. Twenty percent of votes were write-ins.

Republican incumbent Washington Secretary of State Kim Wyman has 56 percent of the vote in Whitman County against Democrat Gael Tarleton.

Incumbent Republican Duane A. Davidson has 52 percent of ballots in Whitman County for Washington state treasurer against Democrat Mike Pellicciotti.

Incumbent Democrat Patrice McCarthy has almost 53 percent of the Whitman vote for Washington state auditor against Republican Chris Leyba.

Incumbent Democrat Bob Ferguson has 52 percent of the Whitman vote for Washington attorney general over Republican Matt Larkin.

Incumbent Democrat Hilary Franz has just over 50 percent of Whitman County ballots against Republican Sue Pederson for the Washington commissioner of public lands.

Chris Reykdal has 53 percent of the Whitman vote over Maia Espinoza for Washington superintendent of public instruction. 

Democrat Mike Kreidler has 60 percent of ballots for the Washington insurance commissioner position against Republican Chirayu Avinash Patel.

Whitman County Commissioner Art Swannack ran unopposed and will retain his seat with 93 percent of the vote.

Republican Dean Kinzer and Tom Handy, who did not state a party preference, both have 49.7 percent of the votes. Kinzer currently leads by four votes in the race for the second county commissioner position.

Raquel Montoya-Lewis has 54 percent of the Whitman vote for supreme court justice position No. 3 over opponent Dave Larson.

For justice position No. 4, Charles W. Johnson ran unopposed and has received 97 percent of the Whitman County vote.

For justice position No. 6, G. Helen Whitener has received 62 percent of the county vote over opponent Richard S. Serns.

Debra L. Stephens ran unopposed for justice position No. 7 and has received 98 percent of the county vote.

Whitman County Superior Court judge position No. 1 will be filled by Gary J. Libey, who ran unopposed and has received 97 percent of the vote.

A maintenance and operation levy for Fire District 6 in Whitman County will pass. Currently, 84 percent of ballots are in favor of it.